Madhu's vantalu

Flavors & colors come together to tantalize your senses

Bisibele bath: A classic Karnataka dish

Posted by Madhavi on September 24, 2007

cimg3965c.JPG

 

My Bisi bele bath recipe has been moved to my other blog- Click this link below for the recipe-

http://madhusindianrecipes.blogspot.com/2013/04/bisibele-bath-classic-karnataka-dish.html.

The reason for moving the recipe is i am in the process of merging both my blogs!

http://madhusindianrecipes.blogspot.com/.  Check out new updated recipes.

 

 

 

 

28 Responses to “Bisibele bath: A classic Karnataka dish”

  1. Asha said

    Not at all Madhavi, got in on right time! Looks delicious. I bet lot people enjoyed BBB this month including me!!:)))
    Thank you, see you at the round up next week.

  2. Padma said

    That looks Fabulous Madhu….wow you have such cool photos…loved those red juicy tomatoes!

  3. Madhavi said

    Asha,
    can’t wait for the roundup. Looking for some new karnataka recipes which i want to try.

    Padma,
    Thanks for the compliments. Though i like cooking a lot,I am not that good at taking pics. I really get inspired from the fellow bloggers and try my best in taking the shots. I am glad u liked my pics.
    Reg the tomato, I dont keep mine in refregirator. I leave them in the counter top till they become very ripe. I think a really juicy tomato makes a big difference in cooking.

    Madhavi.

  4. vineela said

    Hi Madhavi,
    I am also from nellore.
    congrats to you and i know how busy you are?
    Nice recipes and i will try your rava kesari(condensed milk one).
    happy blogging.
    vineela

  5. Madhavi said

    vineela,
    feela good to know someone from same town as i am. Do try the kesari and let me know hou u like it.

    Madhavi

  6. TBC said

    That BBB looks really good.The pics are fabulous.

  7. Thatz a nice-looking Bisibelebaath dear……Looks yumm :-)

  8. radhika said

    Hey hi…

    This reciepe is just awesome..!!!!!
    My mom was very happy when i just told about this …

    Me and my mom will definitely try this..
    Thanks a lot and keep posting such variety reciepes…

    -Radhika…

  9. […] for the uninitiated: Bisi Bele Bath – A Kannadiga staple. Similar, but not the same as rice combined with a generous helping of […]

  10. annupmaaa said

    can u give reipe fro bisi bele bath powder…pls….is maratha moggu used in it?

  11. Deepu said

    “Bisibelebath Powder

    You will need:

    1 cup Chana Dal
    1 cup Urad Dal
    2 cups Corriander seeds
    1 cup Cumin seeds
    1 ½ cups Dry red chillies (Byadagi)
    ½ cup Curry leaves
    1 ¼ cup Grated dry coconut

    ¼ cup Salt
    100 gms Tamarind

    ( Cup = standard cup measure)

    Roast each ingredient separately with little oil till they are brown and are fragrant (Chana dal to Dry coconut) Cut Tamarind into small bits and heat in a pan on low flame. When it becomes soft, add this to the roasted ingredients and salt and grind to a fine powder. Store in a air tight container and use as required.

    Go ahead and make the whole quantity, I have many more recipes that use Bisibelebath powder other than just Bisibelebath.”

  12. Padmini said

    Hi Madhu,

    Thanks a lot for the recipe. This was yummy.. and its so heavy that just this one item is enough for a complete meal… love the aroma…
    it tastes very good with spicy boondi…

    Luv,
    Padmini

  13. Jagan Iyer said

    I doubt the geninue Bisibela bath (actual name Bisi Bela uli Anna) does not have any vegetables.

  14. […] Posts Potato KurmaVangi bath (Eggplant rice)Bisibele bath: A classic Karnataka dishRecipe GalleryOkra curry (Bendakaya koora)About Madhu’s vantaluChole curry(Chick peas curry)Poha […]

  15. Maala said

    Tamarind juice is absolutely important to bring in the sour part. Looks like the tomatoes have been used in its place. As far as I know, onions are usually avoided in Bisi bele bhath as it is a festival dish and onion/garlic is avoided on such occasions.

  16. […] all the effort. This was my first attempt in making BBB,so I had to refer some expert recipes of – Madhu,Sia and Madhuram.I used Brown rice and wild rice blend instead of plain white to add a little more […]

  17. Bisi Bele Bath said

    The photo makes me feel hungry…well done

  18. Bisi Bele Bath said

    Bisi Bele Bath photo makes me feel more hungry…well done

  19. Dr.shantha mohan said

    whole garam masala used by me during tampering
    it gives a wonderful aroma to BBB
    cashewnut pieces roasted in ghee and added on top

  20. manisha said

    wow gud recipe.but try to add the rcipe for making the main bbb powder

  21. […] effort. This was my first attempt in making BBB,so I had to refer some expert recipes of – Madhu,Sia and Madhuram.I used Brown rice and wild rice blend instead of plain white to add a little more […]

  22. Dr Laxmikant said

    ಬಿಸಿಬೇಳೆ ಬಾತ್ ನೋಡಿ ಬಾಯೀ ಎಲ್ಲಾ ಬಾತ್ ಆಯಿತು…….! ನಮ್ಮ ಲಿಬಿಯಾ ದೇಶ ದಲ್ಲಿ ಈ ಬಿಸಿ ಬೀಳೆ ಬಾತ್ ಪೌಡರ್ ಎಲ್ಲಿಂದಾ ತರೋದು…ಸ್ವಾಮೀ……..!

  23. ramesh said

    Thanks for such a nice recipe.I like this recipe a lot and my favourite one too. Very clear explanation by you and i would like to make this one. As i am beginner in cooking, can you tell me toor dal,rice and tomato in gram measurements.

    Expecting your reply eagerly to make this very soon.

    Thanks.

  24. Stevia : said

    some of the health foods that i always eat are those gluten free foods'”;

  25. Miss. Ketki S. Itraj said

    Hi,

    i had heard like v get market -ready made masala of Bisibeli anna.
    i wanted to taste this rice, but cz of unavailablity of that masala, was still waiting..

    But this recipe is too good. Thx a ton! cooking this in this winter.. hot yummy rice with crazy flavour…

    And my variation: i did it with moong dal.. moong+tur+udid dal..

    Yummy…….

    lot many many many thx……….

  26. Hi there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you require any html coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated! Many thanks!

  27. Hey, you used to write excellent, but the last few posts have been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings. Past few posts are just a bit out of track! come on!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

